Sign in with
Your question

CPU is being throttled / low 3D Mark score

Last response: in Systems
April 12, 2008 11:49:43 PM

So I'm a total newb at homebuilt systems; this is my first. I probably only know enough about hardware to be dangerous, and that's about it.

I've built what should, in theory, be just about the ultimate system (though I'm sure you seasoned folks out there laugh when you see someone say this).

eVGA nForce 790 Ultra SLi DDR3 ATX motherboard
Intel Core2 Extreme QX9650 CPU, 3.0 GHz
4GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1800 (PC3 14400) RAM
BFG GeForce 9800 GX2 (512 MB RAM x 2), 600MHz PCI-E 2.0 x16
2 WD Raptor X 10,000 RPM HDs configured in a RAID 0 array
Antec TruePower Quatro 1KW PSU
LITE-ON DVD/R/W+DVD-RAM etc. etc. etc.
Creative Soundblaster Audigy sound card
Windows Vista Ultimate 32-bit

But when I run 3DMark 06, I get only 13814 marks. Actually I got 14000 and change the first time, then I updated my video driver and my motherboard's nForce driver, and got a lower score. Go figure.

Anyway, the CPU tests in 3D Mark are failing miserably; I'm surprised they don't error out. They never exceed 2 FPS and usually only 0 or 1 FPS. But I don't know why that should be, and I don't know where to begin troubleshooting.

My system information shows the processor correctly, but has what seems like an odd thing:

Intel Core2 Extreme QX9650 @ 3.0 GHz 2.67 GHz

Is it normal to show two different speeds there (like the first part is part of the model name and the second part is the speed it's running at)?

When I reviewed the hardware details from the 3DMark results, it showed the CPU internal speed at 2.7 GHz and the maximum internal speed at 2.7 GHz. It also showed the level 1 cache at 32 kb and level 2 at 0kb, but this particular CPU is supposed to have 12MB L2 cache if I'm not mistaken.