Help Choosing my Motherboard

sidereus

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2008
Hi, my name is Jean-François and I want to do my first build

so i thought about few Motherboards ( SLI and PCIe 2.0 , all of them ) but the problem is that I heard many horrific stories on all of them and I dont want to waste money on buying a motherboard which wont work easily since I am a student ( low budget :p )

Here are the motherboards i looked at

Asus P5N-D SLI ( DDR2-800) 150$

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131232

MSI P7N SLI Platinum (DDR2-800) 150$

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130159

Evga Nforce 750i FTW (DDR2-1066) 190$

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813188026&Tpk=Evga%2b750i

All those cards are PCIe 2.0 , which is important for me if i want to change my video card in 1.5 year or so
I dont really care about the SLI but every motherboards with PCIe 2.0 have 2 slots so...

I would like to know between all of these board which 1 is the best for the performance/price and easy to install. I am asking you because I read many posts on forums and etc...and in all of them there was few guys who had problem with these types of boards

and I want to avoid flashing the bios since it's risky and if i fail...well my dog is dead

If you have better MoBo with PCIe 2.0 give me your suggestion

Ps.: Here is what I am planning to use with the board

Intel E8400 , 8800 GTS 512mb, For the memory it will depend if it is 1066 or 800 but I think the corsair XMS2 rox ( suggestions appreciated there too )

thanks in advance :D

Ps.2 : is it normal i cant find any gigabyte EP45-DS3R in the north america ? it seems to be a good Mobo too...

ilovebarny

Distinguished
May 27, 2008
i suggest you go with the evga 780i. i have heard that the 750 series is not as good. i think it has some sli issues. and of all the mobo's people complain about the evga 780i is the lest that i have seen.

sidereus

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2008