Sign in with
Your question

Need help with DVD driver during Vista Installation

Last response: in Storage
June 12, 2009 6:56:34 AM

Hi, I just finished my first build and have been trying to install Vista all day long. The problem is that it is telling me I need to install my CD-ROM driver before it can continue more and has offered a little driver wizard thing to help me find the driver files on a floppy, FlashDrive, or CD that I put in. I have tried downloading the correct driver for my DVD drive (A Sony Optiarc SATA AD-7240S-0B - OEM http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827118030) from the Sony-Optiarc website, but the Vista Wizard will not recognize it. I have put it on a flash drive and it didn't work and then I even burned it to a DVD and it didn't recognize it still. I was wondering if anybody had any answers to my problem, like maybe I have to do something different with the drivers since it is OEM. I'm still new to all this but have been searching for an answer for hours and have finally decided to ask y'all. Thanks
a b G Storage
June 12, 2009 4:38:43 PM

To be honest, I never heard of Windows needing drivers for optical drives unless really cutting-edge for the OS (maybe like using a Blu-Ray drive to install XP).

One thing that might be happening is that Vista asks for the drivers of the SATA controller on which the drive is plugged.

Can you give us full system specs?
June 12, 2009 9:07:34 PM

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz
MOBO: ASUS P5Q Deluxe
GPU: XFX Radeon HD 4870
PSU: Antec EarthWatts EA-650
Case: Antec 300
HDD: Western Digital 750GB 32mb cache
RAM: Corsair 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 240pin
CD/DVD: (listed above)