Did I get a faulty CPU?

Dark Comet

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2008
Hello I have just bought a Q9450. Installed it, made sure the FAN was down etc.. Then when I booted it, it told me i need a BIOS update to "Use it at full power". So when I got to the log in screen my computer power off (Just cut out). I went into the BIOS settings and my FSB is running at 1777mhz. Does anyone know why?

Dark Comet

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2008
On the asus website there are loads of different files to download. Do I download the one that adds support to new CPUs or just download the latest one?
Sorry if this is a stupid question I have never done this before...
EDIT: My motherboard is the Asus Maximus Forumla. Can anyone link me to the software that will check and update the BIOS for me?

Dark Comet

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2008
Thanks Someguy7. If the old BIOS thought the CPU ran at 1777FSB and caused it to overheat to a point where it cut out. Whos fault would that be if the CPU was broke?

someguy7

Distinguished
Dec 12, 2007
It would be your fault. It should be fine. When a overclock setting is to high for either the cpu or mobo to handle it usually will just shut it self down do to heat or system instability. As long as the old BIOS didnt send way to much voltage into the cpu it should be fine.

I have never even tried to upgrade a cpu myself. With me by the time I end up doing a ugrade I need a new mobo anyways. Others who have experience with this way be able to shed some light. Not sure if windows handles the switch fine or if it needs a clean install to properly deal with the newer tech and more cores of your new cpu. If the bios uprade doesnt solve all the issues that would be my next suggestion to look into

The person who ignored the "UPDATE BIOS" message!

But seriously, update your BIOS and that may fix all your issues.

Dark Comet

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2008