Sign in with
Your question

New PC - Very slow, strange problems!

Last response: in Motherboards
June 5, 2008 5:03:39 PM

hi guys, hope someone can help. First off my pc has just recieved a new mobo, an Asus M2N-VM HDMI. Since i have had this board i have been experiencing strange performance problem, before i discuss my problem here are my specs:

cpu: AMD AM2 6000+
ram: 2GB Ram(not matched, 1gb each)
mobo: Asus M2N-VM HDMI
Gfx: 8800gt
psu: Omega 600w

Basically when ever the pc is put under stress it acts up. "Smooth" operation stops and everything becomes very "choppy" this is more apparent in any 3d app. It will run fine for a few seconds then runs at like 0-5 fps. Even something as simple as itunes visualizer will have the same effect.

I have some degree of knowledge for computers but now im completely clueless as to what is the prob, this is why:

• Thought Ram was at fault, tried a separate module, and slots - not fixed

• Then GFX - I removed my 8800gt and tried onboard gfx - not fixed

• Then PSU - removed my 600w psu and put in my 300w that originally came with the comp. - not fixed

• Then driver conflicts - tested on my other xp installation - didnt work

• I have also run Orthos Prime(stresses both cores), the cpu passed, also tested ram, ram passed

• I flashed the mobo to the latest version, the problems became worse so i flashed it back to original bios.

Another strange thing that happened was when my 8800gt was installed, the pc at bios level was very slow, navigating the bios took 1-2secs to change menus.

So i have tried everything that i can think of, yet the problem persists my last thought is that the motherboard is at fault, do you guys have any ideas?

ADMIN: Please move this thread if need be, im not too sure where to put this as the problem is not specific at this point.

thanks
    hitch24
  • More about : slow strange problems

a b V Motherboard
    June 6, 2008 6:00:33 PM