[HELP] building a computer mainly for gaming 1500-2000$ range

vsdagama

Distinguished
May 12, 2008
So I have around 1000-1500 euros (I live in europe) or 1500-2500 $ i think that is...
I want to build a desktop wich I am going to use for everything:
-surfing a lot
-gaming: WOW, assassins creed, GTA, swat, everything (downloading lots of games),
-use it as a server (my own game),
-for school stuff...

So I want it to be fast and good and powerfull and silent!
Can u help me?:
-the building itself will be fine but I don't know wich parts to choose!
-choosing or recommend me things? (some brand that is very good or so)
-I'm not good at the technical stuff about computers but I can learn, give me links to tutorials about what parts I need

IS THERE a guide where they tell you this stuff?:
Where to look at when buying a case
" " " " a motherboard
" " " " a processor
etc?? that would be IT

I want the best for my money that's all :p

Ow yea my OS is going to be windows Xp because I think vista suks, maybey in a year I'll switch to vista...

Thanx!

liljone

Distinguished
May 11, 2008
there a buyer guild on this web site at http://www.tomshardware.com/theme-buyer-s-guides,142.html

I'm a gamer I personally buy most expensive CPU and/or Video card I can afford then build the system around that.

if you got the money go with a 2-8core CPU (AMD or Intel) (Been useing Intel chips sine 1989 they never let me down)
and 2x 512mb+ Videos Cards SLI linked together. (ATI or Nivida)
the mobo must be SLI ready.
2-4GB of DDR2 RAM.
you need min of a 500W power supply for any gaming rig too. (I preff Thermaltake)
Best gameing OS: Win XP 64-bit (32-bit works too but 64 is better, specially if you have 4GB of RAM)

Note: If you go 64bit the CPU and mobo must support 64-bit!

you can get all the parts you need at (my fav website) http://www.newegg.com

vsdagama

Distinguished
May 12, 2008
Now u talk about CPU and video card, I know what videocard is but what about CPU?