Sign in with
Your question

Need help

Last response: in Systems
April 16, 2008 5:47:39 PM

Hello I'm new here so I hope I am posting this question in the correct location.

I'm a novice with computers, and I really need some help. I presently have a Dell product that I use as a home/ office and multi player online games computer. I really want to be more of a challenge with the gaming so I would appreciate assistance with choosing the best set up between 1,500 and 2,000 dollars. My local computer store recomended the following set up to handle multi person online gaming:

Intel Manufacuted 975 XBX2 motherboard/800 bus
Intel core 2 quad 2.66 processer
4GB DDR2 memory/800
150 GB 10000 rpm
GE Force 9800 GTX 512 mb
20x Dual layer dvdrw
Vista home edition
Sigmatel audio
tv tuner card
air cooled with two fans

I want to be competitive with the games so would this be a very good setup or should I change certain components for better gaming.

My computer guy is trustworthy, and very decent, but I know he doesn't do online gaming so I really need your assistance. Is this the setup for me.

Thanks in advance

More about : question

April 16, 2008 5:52:22 PM

AHHHHHHHHHHHH....

sry to say but hes doing his job....getting money

The 975 board is old and outdated. Its 800 FSB will limit ur processor. Get a good P35 board. Are you going to overclock?

Also, im assuming that processor is the Q6700, but idk. The Q6600 is just as good and half the price.

The hard drive is a raptor. Now here ull get totally mixed reviews on it, but truthfully its a waste of money. New larger drives cost the same and perform just about the same. The WD 640AAKS is great.

For the GPU, get an 8800 GTS 512. The 9800 GTX is the same thing but has slightly higher clocks. (nothing a little OCing cant fix)

audio cards are sort of useless unless ur a crazy audiophile. Save some money and use onboard audio.

And the TV Tuner idk. Why would u need tv for playing games :kaola: 
a b 4 Gaming