A fried Motherboard, urgent help needed

zengy

Distinguished
May 10, 2008
Hi,
Im new to pc building and i managed to fry my motherboard. Instead of using standoffs to fasten the motherbaord to the case, i used screws instead, as the standoffs were a bit hard to screw on. I switched everything on, then pressed the power button on my case and i saw a massive spark followed by a foul smell but after inspecting the motherboard, i can find no burn marks. I took out the mobo from the case and put it on a glass table, tried to power the mobo up again but no lights come up, not even the green led on the motherboard. I reset cmos, took out battery and replaced it, took out everything except ram and cpu but no sucess. Here are my questions:

will i be able to recue my motherboard? (although im pretty sure its fried)
does this mean my ram and cpu has fried to?
will i be able to rma/replace under warrantry? like saying the mobo was DOA or sumthing?

the mobo: asus p5k-e wifi edition (p35)
cpu : intel c2d e8400 + arctic cooling freezer 7 pro
PSU: Coolermaster iGreen 600w
GFX card: Gecube hd 3870xt OC edition
Case: Coolermaster elite 330

i bought the mobo from "www.overclockers.co.uk", basicly 2 days ago
and everything else from "www.ebuyer.com", around 4 days ago

any help apreciated, thanks in advance. Ben

Conumdrum

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2007
CPU is prolly fine. Mobo is toast.

It's your karma, and your responsibilty to say the right thing.

Live with it, a learning experiance

Or you can put the smoke back in the Mobo, it's not cheap with the prices of good mojo as much as oil.

Hopefully the PSU isn't taost too.

zengy

Distinguished
May 10, 2008
will i be able to return it though free of charge if i say the motherboard was DOA? or is it covered?