Intel e8400 + Biostar TPower I45: 5ghz on air?

psik187

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2008
So for xmas i decided it was time for some computer upgrades and got myself the "world record holding" Biostar TPower I45 along with Intel's champion e8400. I also got a 4Gb set of gSkill 5-5-5-15 1066 mhz ram to support my efforts in overclocking my new toy. I feel like i'm sort of out of touch with all of this stuff so i have a few general questions that i think any owner of an e8400 could answer:

I have one of those big fancy Zalman coolers and while i'm no pro, I think i've seated it very well on my chip with good ole' arctic silver 5. The very first time i put in my new mobo and chip, before installing any of the motherboard drivers, SpeedFan told me my core temp was 26c idle. Within a few hours after installing all my drivers and whatnot my new idle temp is around 35-38C. Is this because the sensor reads bad temps until I install the mobo drivers? Or could something have happened to my heatsink setup? I checked it again and one side of the mounting piece that sits on top of the motherboard had came out but somehow the heatsink was still making good contact with the chip, thank god i didn't fry it a few days after i got it. But even after screwing it all back together, the idle temps are still the same. But my real concern is my load temps. After a few minutes on 100% load (both cores) their temps get into the 70s. This certainly seems atypical so i was wondering: what are good load temps for these processors?