balarila

Distinguished
Apr 15, 2008
I'm an avid Bird Photographer (hobbyist, not pro) and I need a PC that will process photos quickly and has lots of storage. I usually take hundreds of photos in a half-day sortie (using up at least 10gb of CF cards). This could mean a thousand photos, each more than 13mb. I then run some processes that convert each photo to multilayered TIFF files, each more than 300mb. And the process takes a looong time.

I'm thinking about the configuration below which I plan to source from eWiz:

Intel Core 2 Quad Processor Q6600 2.4GHz 1066MHz
Asus P5N-E SLI Quad-Core/ nForce650i SLI Motherboard
2 strips of Super Talent DDR2-800 4GB (2x2GB) CL5 Dual Channel Memory Kit (total 8gb)
2 Seagate ST3750330AS 750GB SATA2 7200rpm 32MB NCQ Hard Drive
EVGA nVidia GeForce 8600GT 512MB 2DVI/HDCP PCI-Express Video Card
AOC 2216Sw 22 inch Widescreen 3000:1 5ms LCD Monitor (Black/Silver)

This'll probably set me back a little less than $1.1k, and some more for the casing, keyboard, mouse, DVD.

I'm definitely not rich and I don't make money from this hobby so economics is an issue. I'd appreciate some tips on reducing the cost without reducing functionality/capacity. Perhaps even improving it? Or did I make some conflicting/incompatible choices?

Not sure if that video card or a motherboard with SLI capability are worth spending on since I do not do gaming anyway. Am also thinking if 8gb of RAM is overkill. Photoshop can be hacked to use up to 4gb only.

akhilles

Splendid
You're not playing any games or watching HD videos on this build at all? If not, you can settle for a lesser gpu like Geforce 7X00 for about 10-20 bucks.

Is it going to be overclocked? If not, you can use the stock cpu cooler.

The cpu is the best bang & right choice. I strongly suggest you take a quick look at frys.com for the $179 Q6600 deal. If it's gone, then wait for Monday to order cuz Intel will cut cpu prices on the 20th.