Your question

Q6600 on stock cooling??

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Overclocking
  • Cooling
Last response: in Overclocking
December 31, 2008 4:59:41 AM

I know that's a vague question, but I have been told more often than I was expecting to hear, that I should be able to overclock my Q6600 to 2.8ghz without modding my cooling at all.

I am VERY new to this whole thing, but I do have a decent grasp on what all is involved. There are a few things I'll mention first..

Vista 32bit
2GB ram (I'm pretty sure it's only 667mhz DDR2)
And the flamethrower of a videocard, the HD4870 (idles around 78*C)

I simply do NOT wanna modify my cooling system at all, so if that means 2.4 ghz - 2.4 it is, then.

As a baseline, with the HD4870 idling, I ran Prime95 for only 5 minutes straight and stopped it because one of my cores was at 60*C. I have NO clue how long it's supposed to take the cores to heat up under load like that but I would think that if I'm hitting 60* after 5 minutes of 100% loading, then maybe I shouldn't overclock it at all. At idle, the 4 cores are between 28 and 31*.

I've heard from others that I'll be fine. I guess I'm just looking for some more educated opinions here, if that's cool. Thanks!!

Dave

More about : q6600 stock cooling

a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
December 31, 2008 12:13:44 PM

What motherboard do you have? That is what Overclocks' your CPU.

Generally a stock Intel cooler can get you to around 2.8ghz or so.

60C is still good. I wouldn't worry unless those temps reach 70C.
December 31, 2008 2:45:16 PM

I wish I knew, but I have no clue. It came with my computer, hehe... I have an Acer AM5630-u5209A. I bought it brand-new about 11 months ago on sale for about $350, which I thought was a great deal for a functioning Desktop with a 500gb hard drive, 2 gigsRAM, and a a Q6600 to boot.