I7 920 OC question

dolshina

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2009
While waiting for my parts to arrive for my first system build, I've been doing a lot of research into the i7 920 as well as the Asus P6T Deluxe board, to familiarize myself as much as possible about this hardware. I have a question that perhaps some one out there can answer for me. I've read on so many sights that a person took his i7 920 from 2.66ghz to 3.34ghz simply by increasing the bus speed from 133 to 166mhz, WITHOUT making any other BIOS system changes. Yet, in other posts I see alot of people making many other changes. Since I'm new to this, I'd like to know if it is true that bumping up the bus to 166mhz alone, is all that is required to reach 3.34ghz safely with no system problems. Thanks for your thoughts on this.

dolshina

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2009
To flyin 15sec,

Thank you for your response. I guess going to 3.3Ghz is easy enough just by increasing the BCLK to 166mhz. As for the memory, I'll be using the Corsair Dominator 1866mhz ram. Am I correct in assuming that I won't have to touch any of the memory's settings?
Again, thanks for your input as this is rather new to me.

flyin15sec

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2008
Oh, that ram is plenty fast then. I only mention it because I read somewhere that the i7 920 default to 1066mhz RAM (133 * 8), so if you have slow RAM you'll be overclocking the RAM by alot (166 * 8).

dolshina

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2009
To flyin15sec,

Once again, thanks for your response. I'm sure I went overboard with the Ram but I decided that I wanted to get top quality hardware based the research that I did for about a month. My goal is to have a system that is as upgradable as possible to I can keep it for at least 3 or 4 years. I have parts coming today, Monday and Tues. If everything arrives on time and in good condition, I can start building this animal on Tues. evening next week. Here's what I've ordered;

Thermaltake Armor+ MX case
Asus P6T Deluxe motherboard
i7 920