Sign in with
Your question

Will 8800gs or 9600gt work with 24 amp PSU?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
a b U Graphics card
April 30, 2008 12:10:20 AM

So here's my question. I'm a computer tech by trade, done a lot of building, unfortunately I'm short on cash at the moment. I do have some money, but don't want to overspend. Also my power supply is just a cheap one, 550 watt, but 24 amps on the 12v+ rail. I am stuck on wanting a new video card with the tax rebates coming in and all. I'm pretty well set that I either want a superclocked 8800 gs or a 9600 gt. As those seem to be the best price for the performance you get. Currently I'm running an AMD Athlon x2 5200+, 2 gb of ddr 667, IDE dvd burner, and 320 gb seagate sata hard drive, as well as a couple of case fans.

In your opinion, would this power supply handle those 2 cards? Or which one would it be more likely to handle? My gut says the 9600gt. What do you guys think? Keep in mind if you recommend a new PSU I'm on a budget.
April 30, 2008 12:30:34 AM

Just a quick question, what made you skimp out on the PSU in the first place? You'll need to upgrade it for either of those cards (you MIGHT be able to get by for a while, but why take the chance of losing your whole system? It would be inevitable..). Get a nice, cheap Antec Earthwatts 380w. It should be able to handle both cards nicely. Maybe put the "old' PSU in an older PC? My 2 cents.
a b U Graphics card
April 30, 2008 12:35:32 AM

Actually to be honest, it was a Christmas present. Started a new job a few months back, still catching up on some bills, so as long as it was good enough, that was ok. I'm still running a 7300LE if that tells you anything though...lol. Oh forgot to mention, I do have an add in NIC. But I've been thinking about a budget PSU.