Could really use some help from some skilled computer guys.

Tool Band

Distinguished
Apr 20, 2008
Hey guys. I am really new to all this computer building stuff so I could really use your expert opinions. Let me give you a brief overview of my situation.

Right now I am using a POS Dell I purchased back in '04. Now that games are improving graphically, I need to get a new computer but I've heard from many people that buying systems from companies is A) more expensive and B) just a bad idea. One of my friends knows how to build computers but he hasn't followed all the latest and greatest hardware stuff in about a year or so. Needless to say he is behind the times a bit on the new technology. He has offered to build me a new computer, but I need to get all the pieces required.

I plan on spending somwhere between $900 and $1200, give or take a hundred or so. This website has been great for reading up on some of the latest stuff, but I still find myself becoming confused with all the technical terms and what-not. I was wondering if I could get some forum recommendations from you guys on what I should buy. I don't need top of the line, but I'd like this rig to last me at least 2-3 years of good, solid gaming.

Here are some ideas that I have thought of so far. I am not even 100% sure of exactly every item I need so if you have the time, this computer rookie could surely use some good advice.

Graphics Card: After looking at the April 08 recommendations, I was thinking 1 or 2 of these would do nicely for my system- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150277

Processor: This one has great reviews and it doesnt seem that expensive- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115017

Memory: This seems relavtively cheap and has some pretty good reviews as well- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231098