asymetriccircle

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2008
hi, im playing around with overclocking my system and was wondering about ym cpu voltage. cpu-z reports the voltage to be 1.136v, but core temp had teh VID at 1.2375v. are these both voltage readings, if so why do they conflict and what do i trust? my assumption was VID is what the bios reports and cpu-z is giving me the actual voltage after vdroop. also, do i trust my bios cpu temp reading or core temp? im a bit of a newb at this so any help is appriciated.

asymetriccircle

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2008
alright thanks man...while your here, what would you say a safe temp for a G0 q6600 is? i have searched the forums and have found conflicting opinions. some say dont go over 60C, while other people have said theyve been upwards to 75C and remained stable. what is safe to run at in the long run?

The VID is what the cpu tells the board it wants, what cpu-z shows is what its getting(as said above, vdroop).

check the guide in my sig for info on temps.

From CompuTronix's Guide

-Tcase/Tjunction-
--70--/--75--75-- Hot
--65--/--70--70-- Warm
--60--/--65--65-- Safe
--25--/--30--30-- Cool

Scale 2: Quad
Q9x50: Tcase Max 71c, Stepping C1
Q9300: Tcase Max 71c, Stepping M1
Q6x00: Tcase Max 71c, Stepping G0

asymetriccircle

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2008
thank you, the temp guide explained a lot. so i guess this means my vdroop is about .1v then? that seems like a lot, or is that about right?

also, i know this is kinda straying from the topic, but im overclocking an 8800gt and had a few questions. first, im using rivatuner to set the clocks, and 2min runs of "scan for artifacts" with ati tool. it will report no errors for x amount of time, but if i go to high i will see small yellow dots. these are artifacts and i should back down right?