Sign in with
Your question

Need help with Cooling your PC ?? Read On ..

Last response: in CPUs
a b à CPUs
May 23, 2008 11:59:26 AM

Cooling Tips

Here are a few tips for new users who may find their system is experiencing stability issues due to problems keeping the various components cool.

I’ve cobbled these notes together from experience … and frankly there are so many overheating and temperature posts in the forums at the moment it is clear some of the new users need some help.

I’m no expert … so there is plenty of room for other users to add, delete, or improve on my notes.

I suggest we sticky this, and get some of the others to post stuff at the end, then get someone like CompuTronix (Uber High Priest “How To” Editor) to tidy up the lot when it gets to a couple of pages. Hint hint …

Here is a rough start … without prejudice.

I suggest we mention no manufacturers either … that isn’t cricket !!

I also suggest we put links to recent “hsf cooler roundups” and such to help users chose parts for themselves.

1. Case Cooling

There are plenty of good computer cases around … and plenty of bad ones too.
Unfortunately a number of these marketed as “gaming cases” are not great. Often the case cooling is poor, and too much attention is simply given to the “bling” effect with the coloured neon lights and cheap coloured fans.

Make sure your case has good fans and that they are facing in the right direction. The front case fans should draw air in, and over the hard drives. The rear case fan should draw air out of the case.

Side fans are designed to draw air inwards … primarily to provide cooler air for the cpu. Given the air from the front fans has already increased in temperature after moving over the hard drives and graphics card, the side fans can improve cpu cooling quite a bit. If the side fan is too powerful it can also cause interference to the cpu fan and decrease its efficiency … so don’t get carried away.