Improving Architecture Rig for RHINO, MAYA, 3DSTUDIO

vyan

Distinguished
Apr 17, 2008
to get down to the point, I am an architect student and have already posted a previous thread asking what's a good set up to improve efficiency when rendering my work. Due to the lack of answers and depleted funds, I decided to keep the rig that I have and work with what I have.

I only wanted to build a new computer because the rig that i have was too big and i wanted to make a mATX so I can transport it back and forth.

Now the programs that I use for 3-D is mainly Rhinoceros 4.0 and if anybody have use that program, it takes a very very long time to render your object depending on your rig.

here are my specs:
Quad 6600 @2.4(no overclock, g0 stepping)
4 gigs of ram( 4x1GB of A-DATA ram) no overclock
BFG 8800 GT

I'm quite sad that my time to render takes about the same time as a laptop that has weaker settings than mine. And even when I render and want to do something else like continue rendering, it lags. Is there anyway to improve my efficiency?

akhilles

Splendid
The major difference between a gaming card & a CAD card is that the 1st doesn't hold every in the environment in memory where as the latter does. The secondary difference is a gaming gpu is made for speed whereas a CAD gpu is made for precision.

Browse through the benchmarks. See how a gaming card stacks up to a CAD card in terms of 3d rendering. You can find Quadro FX on ebay for cheap.

http://features.cgsociety.org/story_custom.php?story_id=3321&page=3
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/video/display/quadrofx-vs-firegl_12.html#sect0

2nd, I suggest you overclock the Kentsfield to 3ghz. It can be done on stock cooling.

After these 2 tweaks, you should see an improvement in rendering time.

vyan

Distinguished
Apr 17, 2008
I know theres a difference in performance from a gaming video card and a workstation video card.

is there a a card that can do both? play games and yet render at the same time?