Need help with flashing Bios

minizzle

Distinguished
Mar 19, 2007
Hey lately i've had this error come up when i turn on my computer.

''BIOs checksum error, detecting drive A blah blah."

and i have to restart my computer many times before it'lll boot properly.

so i've researched what the problem is and i've come to the conclusion of having to flash my Bios and see how that goes. The only thing is i've never done this before and need your help.

I dont have a floppy drive so i will be using a flash drive. what are the exact steps i take when going about flashing the Bios. How do i know it has worked..? any other information is appreaciated.

My motherboard is an ECS NFORCE4M-A (3.o)
with im guess AWARD Bios.

Thanks.

Zorg

Splendid
May 31, 2004
Does it force you to reset the time? If so have you tried replacing the battery?

Let me see if I can download your manual for the specifics of your mobo.

minizzle

Distinguished
Mar 19, 2007
umm nope it just has that error message and halts the system. so i have to reset comp alot of times before it starts. um the only time i had to reset time was when i tried clearing the CMOS . as of right now Flashing Bios is what i am going to do next. just need steps on how to do so correctly with a flash drive. i dont have a floppy.. thanks =]

Zorg

Splendid
May 31, 2004
If the battery was dead you should have te reset the time. If you were using the mobo for a long time and now you have a problem I would change the battery anyway, just to be sure. A low battery can cause problems.