Upgrading a newer system and one system with problems

boost3782

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2008
Hello all,

This is my first post here and it is kinda lengthy. I want to add as much information as possible for the best answers. I am a novice system builder with no overclocking exp. I built 2 new pc's for my wife and I to be used for mostly gaming. Ill post the rig specs first then go over my questions and issues. Both systems are on updated XP for the OS.

My Rig-

Mother Board
EVGA nForce 680i SLI Motherboard - A1 Version, NVIDIA nForce 680i, Socket 775, ATX, Audio, PCI Express, SLI, Dual Gigabit LAN, S/PDIF, USB 2.0 & Firewire, Serial ATA, RAID

Chip
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor

Ram
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory (4 gig in mine)

Power supply
SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX 12V 2.2 & EPS12V 650W Power Supply 100 - 240 V RoHS, FCC, CE

Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD3200AAKS 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

Graphics Card
EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS Superclocked Video Card - 640MB GDDR3, PCI Express,SLI Ready, Dual DVI, HDTV, Video Card

Case
Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Dvd/CD RW
Lite on sata

Moniter
Samsung SyncMaster 225BW 22" Widescreen LCD Monitor - 5ms, 700:1, WSXGA+ 1680x1050, DVI, Black, 16:10 Aspect Ratio

My wife's rig has all of the above minus 2 gig of the ram. Her rig is solid and runs great with no issues at all. My rig has a weird issue were it locks up and when it reboots I will be missing the hard drive or the Dvd/cd rw or both and then windows has issues. When I open th case and switch the sata connections around it will most of the time load back up. Other times it freezes and I will have to switch the connections many times to get the rig to fire up.