My new Hardware good enough?

bitmonx

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2008
I am about to make an order for a new Mobo, CPU, HDD and Graphic Card (GC?).
I prviously had a P4 3.0 GHZ, 1GB RAM (don't know which kind...), Asus P4C800E Delux, ATI Radeon X850Pro, Enermax 485W power supply.
I am thinking about getting: BFG GeForce 8800GT OC2, Asus P5N-E SLI Mobo, Intel Core 2 Duo E4600 2.40GHz and OCZ Platinum Revision-2 2048MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz Dual Channel Memory.
Will these hardware work together? Where will the bottleneck be?
I have a Coolermaster Case CAC-T05. Will this case hold my new Mobo or do I need a new case?
I use my PC exclusively for playing games (EA F1Challenge, Flight Sim10 and Ghost Recon2 and Call of Duty4 etc.) and copying of DVD's and of course browsing the net and I am using XP Pro.
With the above choices I am at Canadian$ 720.00. (Already above budget..... :pfff: )

akhilles

Splendid
What are the uses of the pc? Will it be overclocked? How long will be it kept?

The bottleneck is your wallet. no pun. Always has been. Always will be.

The parts you picked out will work together.

ncix.com is having a sale. Check it out.

litlrabi

Distinguished
Mar 25, 2008
If you aren't going to use SLI, you can get a cheaper motherboard. The parts you have chosen will work together just fine.

What is your budget, and where are you shopping? Also, what akhilles asked.

bitmonx

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2008
Thanks for reply. The reason I chose this Mobo is because it comes in a bundle. I will search for one that does not have SLI, but I think it might be worth it. Overclocking? Only if it is safe and easy to do. I hope to keep this system for a while, perhaps 5 years or longer. It may be wiser to get a Mobo that has PCI Express 2.0? Kinda investing for the Future? My budget is tops C$750 and I am shopping at tigerdirect.ca

hutt

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2008