Sign in with
Your question

XFX 8800GT 6 FPS for COD4, what gives

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
May 6, 2008 1:27:51 PM

I moved all my hardware to a new mobo, Asus P5N-D 750i, and i added a new XFX 8800GT 512M. The old hardware is: patriot 4G 800mhz DDR2, 250G seagate sata 150 hd, pentium d 925, 500w antec basiq. The RAM & CPU is only 5 months old.

I installed a few AV and Antispyware programs and COD4. That's it. I tried playing COD4 and it is running at 6 fps with a few peeks at 20 fps. COD4 settings are 0-AA, 0-AF, 1024 x 768, everything else off or low.

The mobo seems to be runnin fine, but i am a noob with nice mobos. It could be some mobo setting, not sure.

Temps are all under 50C even under load. I didnt notice any burn smell or see burn marks.

Shouldn't this combo of mobo and 8800GT be running at 1600x1200 on high at 70FPS? What the hell?

The old hardware was on a HP with a 7600GT 256M and i was getting 50 FPS. Now this 8800GT can't get 10 FPS.

Any ideas where to start?

More about : xfx 8800gt fps cod4

May 6, 2008 2:02:27 PM

make sure you are using the latest drivers for the video card. Im assuming that the move to new hardware included a fresh OS install right? Also, you do have the 6 pin pcie connector plugged in?
May 6, 2008 2:06:15 PM

It could also be a driver issue, make sure you have the latest drivers and if you do you can try the previous version.
Also, have you tried running anything else that might give you a clue about the source of the problem?

For example, you could try a cpu benchmark to make sure it's not the cpu that is the problem, there could be something wrong with the cpu(some issue with the new motherboard)...
Related resources
May 6, 2008 2:08:23 PM

I assumed he must have installed a new OS, since he mentioned installing only some AV and anti-spyware along with the game.
May 6, 2008 2:08:33 PM

Drivers: i tried the nvidia drivers that came on the disk and the newest from the nvidia site.