Sign in with
Your question

Thinking of first build-please advise

Last response: in Systems
April 25, 2008 6:02:26 AM

Thinking of making my first build.... going for good price/performance and ability to upgrade. not overly concerned in overclocking since this is my first build and I am mostly concerned with making it work. May want to dabble a little in the future though. Here is what I've come up with so far.

https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/Wishlist/PublicWis...

thanks for your input

More about : thinking build advise

April 25, 2008 6:33:14 AM

I'd probably go with a p35 mobo instead of the nVidia based mobo's. The nVidia mobo's of recent seem to have some issues. The p35 based mobo's have been good and will still be good for quite some time. I'd look at Gigabyte DS3L/DS3R, Abit IP35-e/IP35, Asus p5k se/p5k series mobo's. They all OC well and are solid. They are also cheaper than the $150 you have budgeted for your mobo. DS3L/IP35-e/p5k se are all around the $100 mark. I'd use the extra $25-50 savings on the mobo and upgrade the GPU to the 8800gts (g92) 512mb GPU. It generally runs much cooler and performs better than the 8800gt. Also if your going to OC the q6600 over 3 gHz, I'd recommend getting the Xigmatek s1283 cooler. It's going for $37 shipped at newegg and is the best bang for the buck CPU HSF right now. The rest of your build looks fine to me.
April 25, 2008 1:08:28 PM

thanks a bunch. I was thinking of maybe upgrading to sli in the future. Think it's worth it to just stick with one gpu for good?
Related resources
April 25, 2008 1:20:18 PM

Looks good- the advice is above is good too, one thing id add about SLI is that isnt worth it on smaller monitors- only when you get into huge monitors do you really need it. Id stick with 1 good GPU over 2x in SLI for a 19inch monitor. Even my 21inch monitor is going to be fine with 1 GPU...
a b K Overclocking
April 25, 2008 1:27:49 PM