Sign in with
Your question

CPU Fan-cooling recommendation for Phenom 2 (AM2+)

Last response: in Overclocking
January 15, 2009 8:04:02 PM

I've just ordered a phenom II and i'm looking for a good aftermarket CPU cooler (not water cooling), which air-cooler do you guys advise me to get??

I have no experience in aftermarket coolers and overlocking, but I want to eventually overclock the CPU so that the build will last me about 2-3 years. With that in mind...What can you experts advise? :o  There's just too many type of brands and varying air-cooling products.

Thanks in advance!

- Shugs
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
January 18, 2009 2:57:59 PM

Hey, i suggest an Asus Silent Knight 2, im getting one for the phenom 2 920, and i herd they are very good at keeping the cpu temp down even after it being over clocked.

Consists of copper heatpipes and a fan to get rid of the heat from the pipes, the fan is also covered by a copper surrounding. Got a cool light as well ;) 

Ull be able to pick it up for about £40

Hope it helps

;) 
January 18, 2009 5:22:33 PM

I've been searching online a bit and found the following that were somewhat within my price range and certified to fit on a AM2+ Socket...

ASUS Triton 81 CPU Cooler (Socket 775/939/940/AM2/AM2+/1207+/1366)

ASUS Royal Knight CPU Cooler (Socket 775, AM2, AM2+, F, F+)

Cooler Master Hyper Z600 Socket 775/939/940/AM2/AM2+ CPU Cooler

Noctua NH-U12P CPU Cooler (Socket 775,754,939,940,AM2,AM2+)

I found this Zalman, I read online that the CNPS9700 is very good, this is the closest I could on the site that I purchase my products...

Zalman CNPS9900 LED CPU Cooler Socket 754/775/939/940/AM2/AM2+/1366

Anyone have any experience with this Zalman CNPS9900? I do prefer one w/out the LED since I really don't need the flashy lights, but if it is as good as said then I will consider it.

Thnx in advance,

- Shugs
Related resources
January 18, 2009 5:29:53 PM

Quote: