Sign in with
Your question

4870 OCing?

Last response: in Overclocking
January 16, 2009 3:19:33 AM

This is my first time on here but I have a question about this HIS 4870 I installed about 5 days ago.

First off, I have tried 8.10, 8.11 & am at the 8.12 driver right now. I have reset all my BIOS data on my MoBo as a precaution, I have tried 40%, 50% & 75% fan settings in CCC and this still happens...
My System:
Q6600, 2GB Ram @ 1066, GIGABYTE EP45-UD3R, HIS HD4870 & ULTRA LSP650 PSU

I was told I should be able to reach about 850 core by 1000 memory on this thing without having to up the voltage, but setting it to 760 core and 1000 memory causes this to happen after about 30 minutes in-game...

The screen will freeze for a second or two, then go black and display the "No Signal" msg, then the PC will restart.

If I bump the OC to 790 and 1100(the CCC max's) then upon hitting the "Test Custom Clocks" tab, it will almost immediately do the above, dont even have to be in-game.

People from other forums said a few thing like: My PSU may not be powerful enough, the card may be a lemon, may be getting too hot? I am not sure, but the PSU should be plenty and I am almost certain this thing doesnt go above 60C on load.

Also... not sure if this relates, but it may give you more clues to what my problem might be:
In Rivatuner, there is only the 'Fan' tab, nothing for overclocking
In ATI Tools, the tools will not load and in the taskbar the temps read like: "GPU: #J"
In ATI Tray Tools, In the Fan settings it says: "No Hardware Found", in the OCing section w/e I select apply or anything(underclocked, OCed or standard) it just crashes my system and reboots.

Thanks for ANY help :D 

More about : 4870 ocing

a b K Overclocking
January 16, 2009 6:44:17 PM

Wow, that sucks. I've only encountered the stuff you mention at the end when the drivers are not installed correctly. I'm stretching here, but maybe flashing the bios of the video card to something else might help?