Motherboard: Asus P5N-T Deluxe 780i £130
GPU: Gigabyte 512MB 9800 GTX £206
Memory: 2GB 1066Mhz DDR2 £50
Harddrive: Seagate Barracuda 500GB, 7200rpm £56
PSU: Coolermaster M700 700W £85
Case: Lian Li PC-7B Plus (+two 120mm ball bearing fans) £60
Disk Drives: Sony DRU-190S DVD-RW.. £19

Total: £756 (i think)

Just want to get people's advice, as far as I can tell everything should work together but like post says this is my first build.
Main parts i'm not sure about:

1) Here's the main one: If you can suggest any parts that will function as well as the ones chosen but cost less PLEASE speak now.

1) Motherboard: Is this a good board? I know i need 780i so I can get full PCI-E 2.0 x16 SLI at a later data, which i know this board is capable of but found it hard to find any consistent reviews about how good board is.

2) PSU: Have no idea what is good, the GPU chosen reccomends 600W PSU with a minimum of 450W to function. I went with this one cause it's easily meets that so should be ok for SLI at a later date but no idea if it's good or not.

3) Memory: Due to my budget I can either go 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800Mhz or 2GB (2x1GB) DDR2 1066Mhz, what would you go for - more at slower speed or less at higher speed?

More about : check build

April 26, 2008 1:47:00 PM

Quote:
1: Go for an intel chipset to reduce cost

2: Keep it the way it is

3: Go 4GB of 800Mhz its better value

Am i missing something? The only intel chipsets that support core 2 duo, and SLI with PCI-E Gen 2.0 are the x38 and x48 right? I checked the prices for them and the x48 was way more expensive and the x38 was a similar price but doesn't support 3 way SLI so less bang for buck?
April 26, 2008 1:54:25 PM