Running four 9800GX2 cards is possible

kjoost

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2008
I am a researcher at the University of Antwerp in Belgium. We have recently developed a "superPC" (made from consumer hardware) that runs eight GPUs on four NVIDIA 9800GX2 cards.

Given the controversies about how much power would be needed for such a system, if aircooling is sufficient, etc., I would like to share our experiences:

http://fastra.ua.ac.be

Has anyone else built such a system too?

kjoost

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2008

The CUDA programming language looks a lot like C. If you know how to program in C, it is quite easy to learn to write CUDA programs. However, getting the high speedups requires a lot more work. The order in which your program accesses the various types of memory are of great influence to performance.

spanner_razor

Distinguished
Nov 24, 2006
It's a crossfire motherboard though, did you have to write custom drivers to allow both motherboards and gpus to work with 8 gpus.
Isn't gpu overheating a problem too, is that why the side of the case is off as it's too hot with it on.

Impressive. I hope your solution is copied all over the world and helps medicine advance a little faster.

I loved the section about comments from forums. So you went ahead and did it anyway, after everybody said it was impossible :)

Yeah, they explain it on the Web page. They get 86 degrees Celsius under load. This will make the cards die faster than usual, true, but by that time they'll just get some 9900GX2 cards instead or whatever.

kjoost

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2008

Yes, it is a crossfire motherboard. The reason why we opted for a crossfire motherboard is that, as far as I know, no SLI motherboard exists with four PCI-Express slots and dual slot spacing between the slots.

However, for our computations we don't need SLI: see the technical FAQ http://fastra.ua.ac.be/en/technicalfaq.html for more explanation.

bobwya

May 21, 2005