Trouble using the 500$ gaming computer

bobthepurplecow

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2008
i've never built a computer before. i've upgraded, but never peiced together a rig. so i bought all the components from the 500$ gaming rig TH did a article on. the only difference was the dvd writer, i got a lite-on. so for ease of use here are the parts

mobo : ga-p35-dsl p35 + ich9
gfx card : 8800gs 384m RT
cpu : intel e2160 1.8g 775 1m R
memory : 512|wintec 3amd2800 - 512M1
HD : 250g barracuda sata2 st3250310AS
dvd / cd writer/reader : lite-on|Lh-20a1-06 LS RT
cpu fan : CM|rr-cch-l9u1-gpr

sorry if the names sound jacked up, im using my newegg order sheet because all my parts are upstairs in my room, and its easier listin it like this. basically, its all the parts from that article, except the dvd burner.

anyway, i put it together, turned it on, and everything seemed fine. i was installing winxp sp2 when at about 30% the blue display light started blinking and the computer started making weird noises, then it rebooted itself. now when i try and reboot, booting from cd in an attempt to reinstall winxp, i get the following error "NTLDR does not exist, hold ctrl + alt + delete to restart" and when i reboot i get the same error over and over.

and the blue HD light doesnt show during the computers bootup sequence.

i'm not sure if its a power thing, a hardware thing, or a software thing. any advice would be hugely appreciated guys. also, any tweaking tips on the current mobo would be some grand knowledge.

akhilles

Splendid
If the parts are not defective, it's probably the config. 1st, double-check your connections. i.e. SATA to SATA. Set IDE burner to master with the jumper in the back, and make sure there's nothing hooked to its cable's middle connector.

# - to mobo
||
# - nothing
||
# - to IDE drive

Then clear cmos. Look it up in the mobo manual. Use a working pc to write this to a floppy/cd/dvd:

http://www.memtest.org/#downiso