Sign in with
Your question

8800GT No Signal?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
May 13, 2008 4:00:50 PM

Hi everyone,

I really hope someone can help me with this. First off here are my system specs:

ASUS P5N-E Motherboard
MSI NX8800GT
2x Kingston 2gb RAM
2x SATA Hard Drives
Intel E6850 CPU
DVD writer
Antec EA 500-EC EarthWatts 500W

I just put the system together on Sunday. It worked pretty OK, I installed XP fine and everything was OK. The next morning I turn it on and all the fans come on (graphics card, CPU, case fan), all the lights and so on, but there's no signal to the monitor. I tried unplugging etc but no change.

Now I'm a complete newbie at this, this is the first build I've done and I was so chuffed, until this. I really want to get this up and running so if anyone has any suggestions I'd appreciate it. I searched the forums here but couldn't find anything, but feel free to point me in the direction if I missed it.

Thanks in advance :) 

ruisleipa

More about : 8800gt signal

a b Î Nvidia
May 13, 2008 4:09:29 PM

Make sure the video power cable is plugged right and try to reinstall the memory sticks and main and aux(4 pin) connector. For now unplug any printers card readers and other usb devices you are not using,

Do you have a pc speaker plugged? if should beep out error codes to help tell you whats wrong.

When all failles disconnect anything you do not need and maybe even run the board outside the case on the anti static bag(and near the edge of a table/desk so the expansion cards fit right) it came into to rule out a short from a misplaced motherboard stand off(those little brass things the board screws into). If that does not work and you have(or have access to) an old pci video card, try this as well in case you are unlucky enough to have a video card that just died.
May 13, 2008 4:11:15 PM

Try to change RAM sticks. Put them in the black slots.