Recommendations and Critique on my New Computer Build

Dioxine101

Distinguished
May 1, 2008
Hello everyone.
I have been searchig the boards and I have come to an objective about what I would Like to have as a system. I was wondering if some people can give me some advice on some questions I have and or suggest somethings that I maybe mistaken, (as I am a newbie).

Objective: looking to build a system that can retain it's High-mid range edge for 3 years.--Not High end range, but Higher Middle range. As such I do not need all the components now as I can upgrade things like the video cards to SLI or high end Video cards as the prices drop as the years moves on. So what is consider HIGH end now will be High Middle end in 1 year or so.
As the Objective is to be able to upgrade I am looking at the base bread and butter, Motherboard, memory, powersupply, fans, and Box.

So with the help of the forum I was looking at this:

MotherBoard:
EVGA nForce 790i Ultra SLI Motherboard - NVIDIA nForce 790i Ultra SLI, Socket 775, ATX, Audio, PCI Express 2.0, SLI Ready, S/PDIF, USB 2.0, Firewire, eSATA, RAID
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3714951&CatId=3495

Reason: this motherbaord is able to support SLI, PCI -E 2.0, DDR3 and can do FSB of 1600MHz. Also it claims to be a damn good board for overclocking. So I was goign to buy a quad core mid range and overclock.

Also If I sit on the time, the 790's will become more mainstream and I can get it a better price. Maybe 3 years from now there will be dd4 or some kinda crazy triple channel for memories or something, but I think that this would still be a solid mid range board even a few years from now.

Memory:
OCZ SLI 2048MB PC16000 DDR3 2000MHz Memory (2 x 1024MB)
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3809181&CatId=3361