Problems with brand new build

newbbuilder

Distinguished
Apr 28, 2008
Hi everyone, This is my first time posting on a forum for help, so please excuse me if I leave out what is usually expected information about the problem i'm having, but anyway, here's what I am encountering.

I just got in a bunch of new parts to build a new PC and I ran into a couple snags once I had everything plugged in and ready to go. The components consist of:

Intel Core 2 Duo Q6750 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte P35-DS3L-S3L motherboard
XFX GeForce 9600GT
OCZ DDR2 800Mhz dual channel ram
Corsair VX450W PSU

Basically the issue at hand is when everything is all connected together and I go to turn on the power, nothing happens, not even the PSU fan will kick in. However, when I disconnect the 4 pin, 12v plug for the CPU, I can fire up the system and things happen. Fans start spinning, including the CPU fan which is still connected to the motherboard, there's a quiet and quick 2 beeps, but since there is no power to the CPU I don't get a post or anything, just a black screen with my monitor light blinking at me (but it doesn't give me a check signal message). I've tried reseating the CPU a number of times, as well as doing some PSU tests. I've also disconnected everything and retied it all back together, but I still encounter the same the same problem when the 12v connector is plugged in, absolutely nothing will turn on. I'm personally at a loss of what to do next or which parts I need to RMA as i've never had this sort of thing happen before. I would appreciate any ideas or other things to try that I may have missed. Thanks for your time guys, hopefully I can get this issue resolved soon.

beurling

Distinguished
Jan 2, 2008
first thing that comes to my mind is that you have insufficient power for your system. When it doesnt have to power the cpu it works fine, so the PSU can't be broken. But 450W should be enough, unless I'm behind the times a little bit.