F.N.G. build. Already ordered, please leave comments/advice

pcgamer12

Distinguished
May 1, 2008
Hey everyone. I've never built a computer from scratch before but I've upgraded my old Athlon XP and RAM before so I'm still a novice.

I've just ordered this build from Newegg for $644.62 USD after Tax and Shipping before $30 USD MIR. $614.62 after everything.

Here what I've ordered from the EGG, I'm so excited. I plan to OC the Allendale, it's got a 12x multiplier. :p

Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Mainboard $89.99 USD
XFX Geforce 8800GT 512MB /w Free Company of Heroes $129.99 USD
Intel Core 2 Duo E4600 Allendale 2.4Ghz Dual Core $119.99 USD
Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) DD2R2 800 (PC 6400) $60.99 USD w/ $30 MIR
Western Digital Caviar SE WD1600AAJS 160GB 7200RPM SATA $47.99 USD
LITE-ON 20x DVD+-DVD Burner SATA $28.99 USD
Microsoft Windows Vista 32-bit System Builders $99.99 USD

Subtotal: $627.93

I have a P150B and a 430 Earthwatts already at my home. I've totally taken out my Athlon XP mobo as well as the CPU, RAM, and gfx (its so old I can't tell what card it was, i know it was AGP x4 and an ATI), all ive got from the old build is the MS keyboard, some altec lansing speakers and a Logitech gaming mouse. Any recommendations on a monitor? I didnt buy one off Newegg because I want to see how they perform with my own eyes before I buy. Im thinking about going with a Dell around 20-22", maybe a Samsung, ive heard they have more vibrant colors.

Also, I'm not sure the 430w PSU will supply the GPU with enough power. Can someone help me on the subject? There are 3x 12volt rails. Each with 16A (amps?) for a total of 384w output. Nvidia recommends 450w for the 8800gt, I'm not sure about the amperage on the 12 volt rails. Should I just buy a 620w PSU? I don't ever plan to SLI because I'll need a new case and mobo.