Sign in with
Your question

New PC Build - Overheating?!? Need Help

Last response: in CPUs
June 3, 2008 7:50:59 PM

Hey guys I just recently bought a new pc about a week ago and I'm not sure but it seems to be really hot possibly overheating. I'm a novice when it comes to this kind of stuff so please bare with me. I did not put together this pc myself, I had the tech guys at the store I got it from put it together for me. Also computer is not overclocked. I have the latest drivers/updates for everything.

PC Specs:
Clocked @ 2.67ghz
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700
Motherboard: Asus P5N-T Deluxe
Memory: 2 x 1gb Crucial Ballistix DDR2 800 PC2-6400+
Video Card: EVGA e-GeForce 8800GTX 768MB
CPU Fan: Cooler Master Hyper TX X2
Case: Antec Sonata 3 w/ 500w PSU
Additional: 2 x Sata HD & 1 x Sata Optical Drive

Running on Windows XP Pro SP3

Screenshots of temperatures:
Using Speed Fan & Coretemp, these are the temps @ Idle.

Additional Screens:

Temperatures @ Load:

I got these temperatures using Prime95 Torture Test:
Using the Small FFTs (maximum FPU stress, data fits in L2 cache, RAM not tested much) option for 1min.

To me it seems that just under 50°C Idle & almost breaking 70°C @ load is quite high.
Ambient temperature is around 26-27°C.

Is my computer overheating or is this normal?
Also if it is overheating, is there anything I can do myself?
Would getting a better PSU reduce temperatures?
I'm trying to avoid lugging my system back to the shop to get it checked.

I'll greatly appreciate any help/feedback anyone has.

Thanks.

More about : build overheating

June 3, 2008 8:12:26 PM

try to reseat your heatsink.maybe its not sitting on it properly.
June 3, 2008 8:13:54 PM

but your ambient temp is very high anyway.maybe thats why its so hot.
Related resources
a b à CPUs
June 3, 2008 9:23:33 PM

CPU temps look too high. Have you tried re-seating the HSF?

PS: Read CompuTronix's guide on C2D temps.
June 3, 2008 9:34:19 PM

I haven't tried to reseat the HSF yet.