Sign in with
Your question

Qustion on life span of OCing

Last response: in Overclocking
January 27, 2009 7:42:52 PM

Hello i recently bought a system i am planning on learning to OC on.

Asus P5Q-PRO mo-bo

E8400 CPU

Xigmatek 3rd party cpu cooler

8 gigs of Gskill ddr2 900 (actualy running at 800) 4-4-4-4-12 timings or something

HD4870 GPU

Cooler Master HAF Case

Now i know that OCing the CPU is no big deal since it will still last longer then you will have any use for it (only reliable thing i could really find through google).

but as far as the other components go i have no idea what the affect will be. I'm wondering if oc'ing will caus any of these components to die before i replace them.

I'm new to OCing and the impact of lifespan after OC is my general question.
January 27, 2009 9:08:52 PM

Also a quick side question since i don't thing its worth making another post for

I was ocing my gfx HD4870 through the CCC.exe and after doing the auto tune which set my GPU clock to 840hz and my memory clock to 1045 i decided to crank up the memory setting in a large interval since i read that everyone was easily running the card at max settings. I set the memory clock speed to 1150, and started the built in CCC stress test. I got artifacting, then a blue screen and a system restart. When the system came back online it had restored the settings to what the auto tune had set it to. I decided to test crysis out and i got artifacting and another system restart... Defaulted back to gpu 750mhz and memory 900mhz. Booted up crysis and it got artifacting? when loading up? Not really sure if it was artifacting as it looked more like it was loading all the textures in a prosses. 2 sec into the game it was gone. Now the card seems to be acting a little funny...it may be my imagination. It just seems like its acting a little odd though. Also the object detail is locked at very high and i don't remember that before.

Did i ruin my gfx card? Are there any tests i can run?