Sign in with
Your question

Confusion about connecting hard drive to p5k se mb (newbie question)

Last response: in Components
June 4, 2008 3:59:25 PM

Hi guys,

Today i built a new budget comp with a p5k se mb. Its definately a major upgrade from my previous mb which was p4p800-e deluxe.

Since i am VERY new to modern motherboards, I am a little confused about some things.

There is only one connection for IDE cable which left me thinking if there was a way to use my current old hard drive AND a cd drive at the same time without upgrading my harddrive?

That is not to say that my current hard drive doesn't work with the new mb, but the thing is, it uses the IDE connection which the cd drive also uses...

I was trying to connect the cd drive to the IDE cable made for hard drive, but when the comp starts up, it recognises the hard drive, but stops at black screen when trying to recognise the cd drive. I am assuming that it was expecting a second hard drive there instead i guess which is why it didn't make past that point.

Anyway my real questions are:

Is there a way i can use both, my cd drive and my oldish hard drive (which doesnt support modern connection ...is it called SATA?) at the same time?

All i want to do for now is install drivers from my cds and get the wireless internet to work. Is there a temporary solution to this?

Help would be MOST appreciated! Thanks!

June 4, 2008 4:24:08 PM

Check the jumper settings on the back of the hard drive and CD rom. There is a set of 8 pins on the back of the drives that will be next to the power connection with a jumper connecting two of them. Make sure that jumper is in the right position. Check the top of the drive for a diagram of which two pins are which. The device at the end of the cable must be set to "Master with slave present" and the device on the second connector should be set to slave. This should fix your problem.
June 4, 2008 4:24:52 PM