Mammal186

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2008
Ok. Here is my sob story...

I bought a Dell. Yea, I know. Anyway I bought the XPS 600. P4 3.2 gig. I worked pretty well for a couple years, but it recently started to show its age.

Being that I am still learning about computers (more and more each day, and trying to absorb as much as I can), I figured that I could do an effective upgrade by doing the following things
1. I went from 2 to 8gigs of RAM. I know its more than I need but it was a good price from Crucial, so wth.
2. I went from XP 32 to Vista 64.
3. I bought a evga Geforce 9800 GTX.

I figured this would work well, but soon discovered that my game that I was playing was only getting about 14 FPS.
Come to find out I am bottlenecked.. imagine my surprise...
So I figure out that Im going to need a new Processor and because the XPS Motherboard is a piece of crap, a new motherboard as well..
Here is an inside view of the case
http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/xps600/en/SM/techov0.htm#wp1052309

I really like the shape of the XPS case though and I do not know if the case itself is will my case accept an ATX Board? Im already getting dirty looks from the wife for spending what I have, and If I can avoid spending another 100 dollars on top of the 600+ Ive spent already it would make my life a little easier.

Also, any suggestions about a motherboard and processor? I was leaning toward
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813127030
and
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115037

Thanks in advance.. I appreciate your advice.
(And I realize im a clueless noob)

chookman

Distinguished
Mar 23, 2007
Im suprised that the PSU in the XPS dell is keeping your 9800GTX afloat, usually dell will put the absolute minimum PSU for the rig possible to save money.

Mobo if you trying to save money you should look at something like this
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128059