Sign in with
Your question

New Build for $1000... Here is what I came up with.

Last response: in Systems
May 4, 2008 7:08:37 AM

Hello everyone...

I am building my very first computer and I would like some advice with my build. I have always been into computers but recently purchased a macbook pro for college because I am into photo manipulation and videography.

Obviously this will not play games and I don't want to bring my xbox 360/wii with me to college, so I would like a 'modest' gaming rig used solely for gaming at the $1000 range. A little less would be good but I always get excited when buying things and I usually go over budget. I plan to either get the new Dell 2408 monitor or a Dell 20" to go with the system.

As mentioned I am building this myself and I have never done this before... so are there any websites or books that give step by step instructions on the building a computer process? Any information would be great, thank you.

Anyways... here is my planned build so far:

Case: Antec Steel Midtower
PSU: Corsair 520W
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-P35
CPU: Intel E8400 3.0
Memory: G.Skill 8gb (4x2gb) @ 800
Graphics Card: EVGA 8800GTS 512mb
Harddrive: Seagate 320gb
Optical Drive: Pioneer

That totals up to about $1070 + tax and shipping bought directly from Newegg. I will probably buy my set up in a month or so... plenty of time to switch components with your recommendations. Also, the prices will probably go down a bit.

Here is a list of questions:
Will that case fit everything that I chose with room the spare?
Will all the components work together in an optimal way?
Since this computer is only for gaming... Vista 64bit safe bet.. or should I go XP?
Any other wires/connections/etc that I will need to build the computer?

Thanks for reviewing my new custom computer everyone and please throw up any recommendations as I pretty much just followed the OP's advice on the components. Any upgrades or downgrades ideas... let me know.

Great forum!