$1200 SLI, wolfdale,Raptor system, opinions?

dhrumstix

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2007
Hi Guys, This is my first build and I was wondering what you all would change and why.

Case: Antec P182
Mobo: MSI P7N 750i SLI
Proc: E8400 Wolfdale
RAM: Corsair 4GB DDR2 800 Cas 5
Video: 2x Nvidia 9600GT 512mb
Power: PC Power & Cooling S75QB EPS12V 750W Power Supply**
Hard Drive: Western Digital Raptor 150gb**
DVD: who cares

I can get all of this shipped from Newegg, after rebates for $1211.

**Is this power supply too much? Is it a good PSU?
**Is Raptor performance only seen in RAID, in which case what HD should I get?

Thanks

boonality

Distinguished
Mar 8, 2008
Ok my personal opinion is this

Case - fine
Mobo - I would go with an X38 or 780i
Proc - fine
RAM - fine
Video - If X38 get 9800GTX, if 780i get 8800GT SLI
PSU - excellent choice
HDD - dump the raptor, they are loud and you will only see a real world difference in loading maps and how fast windows boots... whoopdee. Go with a 7200.11 from seagate.

akhilles

Splendid
Yup, the PSU is overkill for dual 9600GTs, BUT it will give you headroom for gpu upgrades. You won't have to worry about power for a while.

Raptors are falling behind in terms of performance cuz the regular SATA drives are gaining on. You can have a dual SATA setup in RAID 0 for less.

RPAaggieDude

Distinguished
Oct 8, 2007
That system looks pretty good.

Case - Great cooling and spacious enough to put whatever you want in it.

Mobo - I generally try to stay away from MSI (I've had bad luck with every MSI product I've used in the past, so I don't buy MSI anymore)

Processor - Even though I love AMD, this is still a great processor

Ram - I only use 3 brands of ram: Corsair, Crucial, and Team Xtreem, so its looking great there.

Video - I've had all kinds of video cards and I currently have a 6600GT (128mb). Its colors are not as good as the ATI's. So i might suggest to you to wait a week or two till the 4870's come out, or do 2 3870's.