AMD Athlon 64x2 4000 OC CPU/ CPU Core Temp??? Help Please

g3ballistics

Distinguished
Feb 1, 2009
Hey Guys,

I just OC my Athlon 64x2 4000 Brisbane from 2100 now to 2527.. question is my temp reading confuses me, I have everest corporate edition, HWmonitor and SIW. Which one is more reliable???? also what does "THRM" means????

reading from SIW

THRM 55 C

CPU core 0: 29 C
CPU core 1: 30 C

Thanks guys!!

PS: MODZ, I'm a newbie in this forum so if any thread existed before please delete this one

bf2gameplaya

Distinguished
Mar 19, 2008
THRM could be short for thermistor, which is a type of thermometer...in this context it could be anything, from a hardwired diode somewhere on the mobo or a flexible 2-lead wire you plug into the mobo like you would a fan header and then stick the thin plastic end of the wire where you want the temperature taken, like a 24/7 probe. I have a thermistor wire on my mobo and it's pretty handy...I stick it in between my RAM sticks, neat eh?

It just might be shorthand for thermometer and be the CPU temps reported to the BIOS by the on-board mobo sensor.

You can generally rely on core temps as being actual, close to reality, on chip temps...meaning if core readings are consistently high, something is wrong. Other named probes could be anything and report meaningless data.

The only way you can tell if the numbers mean anything useful is to watch the ones that match ambient temperature the instant you turn your PC on, and then slowly (or not so slowly) climb. Those ones are probably reliable and you need to figure out just where they are.

g3ballistics

Distinguished
Feb 1, 2009
to bf2gameplaya, thanks dude! now I know.. Actually my core temps never exceeded more than 30C (both core) on O'Ced AMD 64x2 4000 and what really odds me is the "Thermistor" idle is 35-40C then suddenly it will reach 59C (at full load) By the way my mobo is emaxx MCP61P-AVL, would you know where is that "thermistor"

Thanks again