Please help - I'm pulling my hair out with my new €1500 paperweight

Branoic

Distinguished
Jun 5, 2008
Hi, I'm not too technically minded, so I'm hoping someone will take the time to please please please help me troubleshoot!

I just got a new custom built gaming rig from Komplett. I've spent over €1500 on it and have been at my wit's end the last few days with problems with it. I feel like I've just bought a very expensive paperweight! The system is as follows:

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.67GHz Socket LGA775, 8MB
Asus Striker II NSE, nForce-790i SLI, Socket-775, DDR3, 3xPCI-Ex(2.0)16
Corsair TWIN2X 6400 DDR2, 4096MB CL5, Kit w/two matched CM2X2048-6400 Dimm's
XFX GeForce 9600GT 650M 512MB GDDR3, PCI-Express 2.0, 2xDVI, 650/1800Mhz (X2 - SLI)
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W, Modular, 8xSATA, ATX/EPS, 4xPCI-E, 20/24pin
Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit

I've also ensured that I have the latest nVidia drivers. The system will play any game I put in it at the highest settings, with awesome FPS, but with constant hang-ups and crashing. For example:

CRYSIS: Can play for anything from 5 to 15 minutes and I'll then get a black screen, a CTD, and a message telling me "the display driver nvlddmkm encountered a problem but has now recovered." I've searched online for problems with that driver and it seems like it's a b1tch of a problem with no sure cause or cure. But, out of all the games I've played on the system, Crysis is the only one that ends up showing that message.