Sign in with
Your question

Strange Raid 1 error (Intel Matrix)

Last response: in Storage
July 25, 2009 9:24:31 PM

Hi guys! Anyone here that could give me a hint.

- Have 6 drives (3 mirrors) and one day one mirror where "lost".
- I cannot read from any of the lost mirror drives, I cannot access the data but I can see them in my Matrix console and bios.

I have been using different software to try to at least get out the software from one of the drives but it is impossible.
Anyone know any tools that can read or fix corrupt raid drives?

Matrix marks one of the drives with an X and say it failed. But the other drive should still be ok but I cannot read from that one either. Could the problem be that one drive got corrupt and then mirrored that to the other healthy one so one is damaged and the other mirror is gone because of mirroring the damaged one?

This is first time ever something wicked like this happen and I have been raiding for over 15 years now?!

All inputs are welcome.
Thanks
a b G Storage
July 27, 2009 3:35:37 AM

I don't completely understand: if only your mirror failed, shouldn't you be able to back-up all your data, then just rebuild the array? Also, why didn't your array's auto-correct capability kick in?
July 27, 2009 9:44:44 AM

Neither do I =)

I have tried a lot of different things since my post and it seems like disk 1 got the whole MBR damaged and then mirrored this to the second drive.

So instead of protecting me I screw up 2 disks .... I'm still trying to recover files with different tools I found on the net but no positive result this far =/
Related resources
July 27, 2009 3:34:24 PM

I have read out the info from both drives separate and together now.
All I get is this

I 07/27/09 12:00:10 Active@ Partition Recovery DEMO Version
I 07/27/09 12:01:23 Device scan started on Hard Disk 2 (Intel Raid 1 Volume 232.9 GB)
I 07/27/09 12:01:23 Scanning Intel Raid 1 Volume ...