Whats the best?

kylednelson

Distinguished
May 19, 2008
Hello, i am a newbie here but i have a question. I know there's a sticky for the best graphics cards for price and interface type; however i only have PCI slots in my computer. I did some research myself, but its hard because i am currently stuck on dail up. I am looking ot upgrade my GeForce FX5500 to something better. What I found was this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814139010

My question is, is this the best i can get for PCI only, or am I just not finding something thats better? Any help is greatly welcome and thank you in advance!

KyleSTL

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2007
The best PCI card is the Radeon X1550, which is absurdly overpriced (>$100).

However, such a card will be bottlenecked by the bus. That brings me to my recommendation, if you're gaming, buy a new computer. No PCI-based card will play any recent game at enjoyable resolutions, details and framerates.

I have a question for you, however: What is your intended use of the computer? This will determine what recommendation can be made for your situation.

ahslan

Distinguished
Aug 23, 2007
if your gonna be gaming, your definitely gonna want something that has a pci express slot...i suggest you start saving for new rig build :) ...look at the bright side though; gaming comps have never as cheap to make as they are today

kylednelson

Distinguished
May 19, 2008