Sign in with
Your question

Preparing for X-fi XtremeGamer install. Any insights?

Last response: in Components
June 9, 2008 7:33:32 PM

I have a Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3P Mootherboard that I have been using with onboard sound (Realtek ALC889A) for the last 10 months. I have Windows Ultimate 32-bit version installed. I have not been happy with the sound quality - I hear sound when scrolling web pages or when the hard drive is working, when I use headphones I still hear humming from speakers when playing games, etc.

Any way, I decide to purchase the Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme soundcard since it was on sale with a $30 rebate and the total would be under $50 after the rebate. I was leary of the drivers for Vista but things seem to be better now from what I have read.

So I wanted to make sure that I do this install correctly. Here's what I was planning to do:

1) Remove Realtek Audio software
2) Remove Realtek Audio driver.
3) reboot and go into BIOS to turn off onboard audio
4) Go into windows and shut down.
5) Install XtremeGamer hardware
6) Turn on PC and install Driver 2.15 downloaded from Creative web site
7) Install Creative Console 2.40.09 and Alchemy 1.10.01 downloaded from Creative web site.

(I figured I would stick with the latest "official" drivers from Creative. I know they have beta drivers 2.18 and beta Creative Console but thought I would only use those if I noticed issues.)

Any comments or insights from people that have installed the X-Fi XtremeGamer on 32 bit Vista? Thanks.
June 9, 2008 8:18:06 PM

Sure, here's my insight....dump the X-Fi and get yourself the ASUS Xonar or HT Omega card. Save yourself the Creative headache!