Sign in with
Your question

~$1000-1300 rig to be built.... How do my components look?

Last response: in Systems
May 7, 2008 1:11:41 AM

Hello fellow posters.

I have been spending a good month looking over threads/reviews/articles on this site and I finally have the money to custom build my own computer.

Everything will be puchased from Newegg,mwave, and Amazon and I would like to spend the least amount of money... basically the best bang for the buck.

Games I play: Wow, SC2, half life 2, COD4, other present/future FPS's. This computer would ideally last 3 or more years with the ability to play future games at pretty good resolutions.

Overclocking? I have never done it before, but I will definitely try it out. I heard that I can get the 6600 to 3.00+ so I would probably aim for that.

Components that look good to me so far:

Monitor: Dell 20" Ultrasharp>>>> $300
Case: Antec P182 >>>>>$150 Shipped
CPU: q6600 (quad core @2.4) >>>>$220 shipped {Alternatives: e8400, q9450}
GPU: EVGA 8800gts 512 OC >>>>$270 shipped
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-EX38-DS4>>>> ~220 shipped {Alternatives: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L ~$105 shipped}
PSU: CORSAIR 520HX>>>>>>> $112 shipped after rebate
HD: Seagate 320GB 7200rpm>>>>>$100 shipped
Memory: 4GB or 8gb @ 800 (2gb x2/4)>>>>>$70-140 {Comment: What brand? 4gb vs. 8gb?}
CPU cooler: XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 >>>>$40 shipped
DVD-drive: whatever>>>>$40 shipped
OEM: Windows Vista Home premium OEM>>>>$110 shipped

This computer is going to complement my laptop which will take care of all the daily tasks and programs. I am going to try to keep this computer for gaming only but may later use it as my main computer (in 1+ years).

Thanks and feel free to leave any suggestions/thoughts.
May 7, 2008 1:23:37 AM

P35 is fine for q6600 and cost $100 less. For e8400 and q9450, you'll need x38/48 to overclock them to their limits. Doesn't matter if you do not overclock.