Memory errors with 4GB, 2GB works fine

xblackdemonx

Distinguished
Jan 24, 2007
Hi, i really hope someone can help me with this because this is driving me crazy.

Just to mention, i'm an IT Tech and this is one of the weirdest problems i've encountered...

I've got a problem with my computer recently. I have 4GB of ram and i keep getting random BSOD while working in Windows(either in XP 64 or Vista x64). The errors are either 0x00000007F or 0x00000007A

i did a Memtest v2.01 with a Boot CD with 1GB at the time, in each of my 4 memory slots for 1 hours each, no errors. I did a Memtest with 2GB in random slots for 7 hours, no errors, i did another Memtest with the other 2GB for 18 hours, no errors.

As soon as i put the 4GB together, Memtest gives error codes...

Before, i had the 4GB and had no problems, this suddently started to happen. I even lended my memory to my friend so he could test it and he got no problems.

I don't understand why if i put 2GB in any of the 4 ram slots, it always works, as soon as i put back 4gb, BSOD and errors ...

Anyone has any idea ?

(i have all the lastest drivers and firmwares, i tried to reset the Bios multiple times and reprogram it, i've left everything on Auto, OC 0%)

btw here are my specs:

CPU: Q6600 Core2Quad 2.4
Video: EVGA 9800gx2 1GB
MOBO: XFX Nvidia 680i SLI
Memory: Crucial Ballistix 4x1GB DDR2-1066 5-5-5-15
HDD: Raptor 10k 150GB
PSU: Corsair HX620W

akhilles

Splendid
On what ram settings did you encounter errors in memtest?

680i has a tendency to overheat the northbridge & memory controller. You can see the NB temp in bios & Windows. I assume your board is out of warranty. So you might wanna reapply TIM on NB, mosfets & maybe SB. There's a thread on how at:

http://www.evga.com/community/messageboard/defaultmb.asp