Sign in with
Your question

Windows Home Server new build - suggestions needed

Last response: in Systems
May 7, 2008 8:47:33 PM

I am going to build a system for my Basement that will be running Windows Home Server. Please make some hardware suggestions. ( I am still learning). I will use this system to stream Video, Audio, as well as back the Three computers in my home- kids and wife. I will need alot of storage 2TB's. Thanks in advance for the help!
May 7, 2008 8:58:54 PM

Get a motherboard with lots of SATA (ie P35-DS3R) ports or get 2* 1TB HDDs.

A E2160/2180 CPU OCed (~2.6Ghz, easy OC on the E2160/2180) will run a WHS fine. Also consider RAID since you will be doing backups and the like, the RAID performance is worth it.
May 8, 2008 12:36:44 PM

Which Case do you recommend? I guess just an average low grade Video card since I wont be using this as a work station? How much ram is needed ? Is much ram used in streaming video or making backups? As you can see I am new at this. Any input would be appreciated
Related resources
May 9, 2008 3:10:21 PM