Yet another noob needs advice on a first-time build

ejn486

Distinguished
May 7, 2008
Hi,

I'm a first-time builder making myself a system for general home/personal use - web, email, office documents. I also am a programmer. Additionally, I play some games, but nothing that should require anything amazing (the graphics-intensive game I play most is Civilization 4, which is a few years old now...), so don't bother suggesting a fancy multi-card SLI setup or something. I use Ubuntu linux primarily, but depending on how well the games run under WINE (I've never tried on this old laptop since it has an ATI card that doesn't run under linux), I may also dual-boot with a copy of Windows XP. Basically, I need parts that have linux support.

As far as a monitor is concerned, I have a 32" HDTV (720p) sitting unused that I plan on using as the monitor, so whatever video card I get should be able to play nice with the TV (via straight HDMI or a DVI -> HDMI conversion, either way). Obviously nVidia is greatly preferred to ATI, since ATI's drivers for linux suck far worse than nVidia's.

For sound, I should be pretty set with on-board sound. I have a cheap 2.1 speaker system I plan on using mostly for music and audio, and a fancy sound card would be overkill.

The things I need the most advice on are a motherboard, video card, case, and power supply. Obviously, as a first-time builder, I need a case that won't make the installation of my components problematic, and where cable management won't be an issue. Also, I'm not interested in overclocking.

I plan on ordering from Newegg. My upper limit is a slightly soft cap at $1000. Here are the components I'm fairly certain I'll be getting:

$220 Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115017
$115 Hard drive: Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD6400AAKS 640GB - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136218