RAID issues and Hard Drive testing programs

Erland

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2009
Here's the deal. I'm new to Toms Hardware and new to RAID including RAID5.

I have the following:

Motherboard = MS-7145 / RS480M

SATA Card = SYBA SD-SATA2-4IR PCI SATA II Controller Card RAID 0/1/5/10 JBOD - Retail

I currently have one Seagate 1.5TB harddrive on the on board SATA.

I have received 3x300GB Seagate SATA harddrives. One of them died on delivery. I replaced it with a 320GB Seagate SATA Harddive.

I turned around and put them on my SATA card and hooked them up with RAID5 though windows server 2k3.

Well when I copy anything over to this new RAID5, I get basically 3 different est remaining times and transfer speeds are really slow.

example. I tried coping a 6GB file that I had on the 1.5TB drive over to the 600GB RAID5.

Windows says est time (max 109Minutes, Min 75minutes) It jumps all around between roughly 75 > 81 > 83 > 91 > 95 > 97 > 101 > 85 > 87 > 81 > 75 > 85 ect.

I've also seen the time at about 50% drop down to 2 minutes then back up to 40/50 minutes.

Also it will take a good hour to transfer this file. This file is just going from one drive to the other inside of one computer.

Now if I copy files from the RAID to the 1.5TB this 6GB takes the amount of time I'm used to like maybe 10 minutes tops. For example a 2GB file took 45 seconds.

So my questions to you are....

What programs does Toms Hardware use to test hard drives?
Is there a program that can tell me why this RAID is so slow?
Is this NORMAL for this type of RAID?

topper743

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2007