Stable 3.0Ghz OC but 8800GTX crashes

Walala

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2009
Hi guys, I'm fairly new at OCing so some advice would be greatly appreciated.

First off, my specs:

Case: Silverstone Tj09
Mobo: Asus P5N-e SLI (0803)
CPU: Q6600 G0
RAM: 4x2gb G-skill ddr2-800
Vidcard: Asus EN8800GTX (stock cooling)
CPU cooler: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
PSU: Silverstone 750W

I can get it to 3.0Ghz stable and I've stress tested with Prime95 for 10 hours which it passed with flying colours.

vcore: 1.41
mem voltage: 2.1-2.2
nb voltage: 1.7

Temps at that speed for the cores are around mid-high 30s and up 45-50 under load. The GPU idles at 60 and 75 on load(which is hot i know).

Problem is, when running on the 3.0Ghz OC, 10-15 secs into playing a video, the system crashes with a BSOD (Hardware failure: system halted message). Right now, I've got the system running at 10% AI overclock (2.64 Ghz) with similar temperatures but the video card doesn't crash when playing games or watching videos.

I've replicated that crash plenty of times, so i'm fairly sure its the video card. So, my question is, would getting a GPU cooler fix the problem? I'm inclined to think that the video card is just overheating.

Can an overclock actually cause the video card to crash like that? I read a forum the the PCI-e frequency could be the cause, but i don't know enough about that......

Walala

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2009
hmmmmm......i just tried setting it to 2.7-2.8 Ghz and windows wouldn't boot.

I'm using sync mode (1:1) btw.

i might try downgrading the BIOS, i've read the 0608 revision is a lot more dependable

calinkula

Distinguished
Jul 26, 2008
Using the AI program to do all your overclocking automatically? I would suggest you get familiar with a few bios setting. First thing I would do is go into bios and lock the PCIe bus at 100.