Sign in with
Your question

Need help with the COOLER MASTER RC-690's fan setup

Last response: in Systems
May 9, 2008 9:23:09 PM

I simply love the look of this case, and it can hold a crazy amount of fans (i think 120's-140's)

2 120mm top fans, 1 rear 120mm, 2 side pannel 120mm, 1 front 120mm, 1 bottom 120mm, and one rear processor 80mm exhaust.

heres a link in new egg:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119137

Tryin to find the best pictures so u guys can see it from all sides.... heres some more:

http://www.techpowerup.com/gallery/1254.html

http://episteme.arstechnica.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/77909585/m/655007947831 (post by BiggyShake)

ok thats just about all i can find. If you need anymore shots just google the name and pictures and ull get a bunch of em....

Heres my question. This is my first build... ever... im planning on buying another 3 120mm fans to go with its 3 stock fans.

What would be the best fan configuration for this case?

It looks like i can mount the powersupply fan down, so it can suck in air from under. i was planning on mounting 2 on top, 1 rear all as exhaust.

The top fan that can be placed on the side panel i dont think i can use, because the heatsink will take too much space.

The bottom 120mm on the side panel im not sure what to do with. Im going to SLI 2 8800GT akimbo's so im not sure if the side panel should be an intake or exhaust...

Also the front instake 120mm worries me a little bit. the 3.5" drive bays block it, by alot it seems. I was thinking of cutting these out if possible, and getting a converter bracket for my hard-drive. (anyone recommend any?)

Also there is a bottom 120mm (near the Power-supply) i assume this should be an intake.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

More about : cooler master 690 fan setup

May 9, 2008 9:53:20 PM

Im not a fan of the side mount type fans - even if it is above the GPU.
My suggestion would be two front fans, the rear fan and 1 top fan.