Sign in with
Your question

How to quickly verify my new build hardware is OK - short rebates

Last response: in Systems
May 9, 2008 10:55:26 PM

Hi all,
I finally took the plunge and ordered my new build parts. Now that I have them arriving I checked out my rebates...What a crock!! 12 days from purchase date. That is crazy. I wont have the motherboard until tues and i will be out of town until for a few days. I will have basically like 1 day to build the whole thing from scratch and verify all the components are good, so i can send the UPC's back. If i just send the UPC's prior and the part is dead, newegg wont take it back.

I havent built a pc in for about 12 years, so basically i am a noob. I got the how-to guide from this site to put the hardware together. My question is what is the easiest way to verify all the components are good after i get it built? I was going to load ubuntu as the OS for now, but i do have an old XP pro disk laying around somewhere. If someone could give me some advice to know how to do this "is my system all working correctly" test that would be really helpful as i wont have much time.

Thanks all,
JD

Here is my build:

LITE-ON 20X DVD±R DVD Burner With 12X DVD-RAM Write Black SATA Model LH-20A1S - Retail
Item #: N82E16827106057

Standard Return Policy

$26.99

Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3750330AS 750GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
Item #: N82E16822148298

Limited 30-Day Return Policy

$129.99

Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor Model BX80570E8400 - Retail
Item #: N82E16819115037

Processors (CPUs) Return Policy

$189.99

ECS N8800GTS-512MX GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
Item #: N82E16814134037

Standard Return Policy

$219.99

GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX All Solid Capacitor Intel Motherboard - Retail
Item #: N82E16813128059

Limited 30-Day Return Policy

$99.99